(TEEN version!) women. raw. honest. loved.

Because it made me think of my adolescent-self, the insecure creature I was (and still am) … Because the girls are so beautiful, inside and outside… Because we should never forget how we felt at that age…and because the project is so beautiful…

alana t photography

mayafinal_1bellag_1bethfinal_1cassiefinal_1izzlebizzlefinal_1irisfinal_1ravynfinal_1sophiefinal

Remember being a teenager?

Especially being a teen girl…
Ugh. The skepticism. The self-doubt. The pressure to be prettier, thinner, funnier, more athletic, smarter, more popular…the list goes on.

Now, take those feelings and maybe multiply them by 100.
With the pressures induced by media and social networking adding to those already crappy feelings they are prone to have about themselves, I would hate to be in these girls’ shoes today.

I went on a field trip this year with my daughter (who is days away from turning 13, and is just now tiptoeing {CONFIDENTLY, I might add} through these waters), and my eyes were opened WIDE as to what she deals with among her peers on a daily basis. Thankfully, the particular group of girls that I had in this group were pretty level-headed girls…smart, fun, goofy girls in seventh grade…acting like seventh graders. But, as I looked around…

View original post 9,100 more words

Leave a Reply

